Bach Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin


Among all the music written for the violin, Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas for the solo violin stand as one of the most revered magnum opus.

The main body of the violin is formed by countless delicate calligraphic lines that flow and swirl around each other. It represents musical harmony where there are tensions and releases. The design incorporates elements from the violin’s construction like the chin rest, bridge, f-hole, tail-piece and fingerboard.

Framing above and below the calligraphic violin are the Corona Ironwork. They are ornamental designs that crown the whole piece. The official title given by Bach is worked into the ironwork. On the top Corona, it reads “Sei Solo a Violino Senza Basso Accompagnato.” (Six pieces for solo violin without bass accompaniment). On the bottom Corona, it reads “Libro Primo – Johann Sebastian Bach 1720 Weimar“. Libro Primo means First Book since Bach also composed a second set of solo music for the cello. The year 1720 indicates the year when the work was completed. Bach started composing these works while at Weimar.
Read more about the artwork.

Size: 53 x 40 cm / 20.8 x 15.7 in
Media: Museum-quality posters made on durable, matte paper.

Shipping Method: Rolled in a Tube.
U.S. Shipping: USD $3.
Worldwide Shipping: USD $8.

If we find that the shipping method you’ve entered is incorrect, we will contact you again. Thank you.

There will be a white area around the artwork because it is printed on a larger paper. You can trim it out before displaying it.

Additional Information

Dimensions 20.8 x 15.7 in